President’s Message

Message from FCTM President – Diana Snider

Dear FCTM Members,

I am honored to begin serving as your FCTM President. I come to you with over twenty years of secondary and post-secondary teaching experience. I enter this position with a passion for effective and engaging mathematics instruction. Throughout my career in education, my various roles have provided a unique perspective on the power of a well-planned lesson, delivered with teacher enthusiasm, and its impact on student engagement and performance. Through this lens, in collaboration with our outstanding FCTM Board, it is my goal to provide our membership with resources and professional development to assist with designing purposeful lessons to deliver effective standards-based instruction, ultimately resulting in classrooms rich with student discussion, enthusiasm and engagement.

I am following in the footsteps of outstanding Florida mathematics educators. Zak Champagne, along with all previous FCTM Presidents, have established, maintained, and increased the professional impact of our organization. It is with great humility that I accept the honor to follow on their heels, determined to strengthen the foundation of our organization while simultaneously amplifying our support to Florida mathematics teachers.

Boosted by this legacy, FCTM will continue to provide professional development opportunities through the Annual FCTM Conference (to be held in Daytona Beach, October 10 – 13, 2018). It is also my plan to create additional standards-based resources designed to support our teachers of Grades 3 – 8, Algebra 1 and Geometry to ensure that students have exposure to high-quality, purposeful instructional materials. These resources will be freely available to all FCTM members prior to the Spring 2018 state assessments, with targeted professional development sessions offered during the October conference.

One essential purpose of FCTM is to serve Florida mathematics educators. My primary focus in serving as FCTM President hinges on increasing the communication, collaboration, and cooperation of every outstanding mathematics educator from across our state. I challenge each FCTM member to identify those who are truly making a difference in a classroom near you, recruiting those difference-makers to become involved in FCTM, attend our October 2018 conference, and share classroom tips, favorite resources, and tried-and-true best practices. Through this cross-state collaboration and cooperation, we will positively impact mathematics education for both our teachers and our students.

In Service,



Diana Snider, Ed.D.



Diana Snider is the Secondary Mathematics Program Planner for the School District of Palm Beach County, Florida. She previously taught at Broken Arrow Senior High School in Oklahoma, Lake Worth Community High School in Lake Worth, Florida and served as an adjunct professor at Palm Beach Atlantic University. During Diana’s fourteen years in the classroom, she taught all levels from Intensive Mathematics to AP Calculus while also coaching cheerleading, the Academic Challenge team and sponsoring Key Club. Diana loved her time in the classroom and now thoroughly enjoys serving the students and teachers of Palm Beach County by coordinating the curriculum, assessments, and professional development opportunities for over twenty middle and high school mathematics courses. Diana has served the teachers of Florida through her three-term role as Vice President (High School) for the Florida Council of Teachers of Mathematics (FCTM). She was voted in as FCTM President-Elect in October 2016 and began her two-year term as FCTM President in January 2018.